home
events
the foundation
carl weidemeyer artist
carl weidemeyer architect
publications and links
contacts
Home
You are the visitor number 2,633.
Last update 27.02.2015
This photo of Carl Weidemeyer was taken by arch. Paolo Fumagalli.
Notification
The Carl Weidemeyer Foundation hast the sad duty to notify the readers of the death of its former president and founding member Dr. Wolfgang Oppenheimer (1924-2014). Below, we publish the eulogy that architect Guido Tallone held in the name of the Carl Weidemeyer Foundation at Wolfgang Oppenheimer’s funeral, on April 11th 2014.
Visit at the construction site of Teatro San Materno on the 9th of May 2009. From the left, Dr. Wolfgang Oppenheimer with Ursula Oppenheimer, attorney Efrem Beretta (1934-2012) and architect Guido Tallone.
Guido Tallone’s eulogy at Dr. Wolfgang Oppenheimer’s funeral
(translated from Italian)
In the name of the Carl Weidemeyer Foundation, I wish to give Dr. Wolfgang Oppenheimer and his wife, Ms. Ursula Oppenheimer, our most heartfelt thanks for wanting and financing, eighteen years ago, this institution, whose purpose is to appraise and popularize the work of Carl Weidemeyer , the architect who planned and built the Teatro San Materno in Ascona in the second half of the twenties.

This had been his first work in our region, as well as one of the first buildings in the Canton Ticino on which the theories and construction techniques of the Modern Architecture applied.

By the time the Oppenheimer family moved to Ascona from Germany, the Teatro San Materno had already been constructed. The architect Carl Weidemeyer, however, had already been a family acquaintance back in their country of origin.

So it came that the same hand that had planned the Teatro San Materno would also draw the Villa Chiara in Via Collinetta 73 in Ascona, a delectable family dwelling which is still actual, lively and intact, and whose perfect spaces receive lucky guests like us, the members of the board of trustees who meet to decide, amongst other things, which projects to sustain according to the spirit and the statute of our Foundation.

To see and hear with which intensity and great pleasure Wolfgang Oppenheimer lived those spaces has always been a source of intimate satisfaction to us architects in the board – Paolo Kaehr, Roman Hollenstein and me. It is proof that Carl Weidemeyer created people-oriented designs, where intimacy and nature complete one another in perfect symbiosis.

Is appears clear now, how someone who had lived so many years in such a beautiful ambiance, and who had known so well its designer and his work, could have wanted to honour him with the creation of this Foundation.

Thank you, dear Dr. Wolfgang Oppenheimer. Thank you for the battles that we fought together, thank you for your dedication, for your human and cultural sensibility: your gesture will never be forgotten.

Dear Ms. Ursula, dear Ms. Sonja, dear Ms. Elisabeth, to you we extend our sincere condolences, willing to carry on the work of the Foundation wanted by your beloved husband and father. In our hearts we will always carry his teaching and his example.

home
veranstaltungen
die stiftung
carl weidemeyer künstler
carl weidemeyer architekt
publikationen und links
kontakte
Home
Sie klickten als Nummer 4,903
Die letzte Eintragung datiert vom 27.02.2015
Das Bild von Carl Weidemeyer wurde von Paolo Fumagalli aufgenommen.
Mitteilung
Der Stiftung Carl Weidemeyer steht die traurige Pflicht zu, den Tod seines ehemaligen Präsidenten und Gründungsmitglieds Dr. Wolfgang Oppenheimer (1924-2014) bekannt zu geben. Die Trauerrede von Architekt Guido Tallone, die er anlässlich der Beerdigung in Ascona am 11. April 2014 im Namen der Stiftung Carl Weidemeyer gehalten hat, wollen wir hier wiedergeben.
Besuch auf der Baustelle vom Teatro San Materno am 9. Mai 2009. Von links, Dr. Wolfgang Oppenheimer mit Ursula Oppenheimer, Anwalt Efrem Beretta (1934-2012) und Architekt Guido Tallone.
Die Worte von Guido Tallone anlässlich der Trauerfeier zu Ehren von
Dr. Wolfgang Oppenheimer (vom Italienischen übersetzt)
Im Namen der Stiftung Carl Weidemeyer, möchte ich unserer Dankbarkeit Ausdruck geben gegenüber Herrn Doktor Wolfgang Oppenheimer und seiner Gemahlin, Frau Ursula Oppenheimer, die vor achtzehn Jahren diese Institution gewollt und finanziert haben, mit dem Ziel, das Werk des Architekten Carl Weidemeyer aufzuwerten und bekannt zu machen, wie zum Beispiel das Teatro San Materno von Ascona, das er in der zweiten Hälfte der zwanziger Jahre erbaute.

Dies war das erste Gebäude, das er in unserer Region schuf, und eines der ersten auf Tessiner Gebiet, bei welchem die Theorien und Bauweisen der Modernen Architektur angewandt wurden.

Als die Familie Oppenheimer anfangs der dreissiger Jahre aus Deutschland nach Ascona kam, stand das Teatro bereits – Carl Weidemeyer war aber schon in Deutschland ein Bekannter der Familie.

So kam es, dass dieselbe Hand, die das Teatro entworfen hatte, dann auch die Villa Chiara in der Via Collinetta 73 in Ascona zeichnete. Dieses prächtige Wohnhaus ist noch heute hochaktuell, lebendig und vollständig erhalten. Seine perfekten Räumlichkeiten stehen offen für die willkommenen Gäste. Wir Mitglieder des Stiftungsrats halten zum Beispiel unsere Sitzungen dort ab, bei denen wir unter anderem entscheiden, welche Projekte wir unterstützen sollten.

Wolfgang Oppenheimer hat diese Räume intensiv und mit grösster Freude erlebt. Dieser Gedanke ist für uns Architekten, die im Stiftungsrat sitzen – Paolo Kaehr, Roman Hollenstein und mir – höchsterfreulich. Es ist ein sicheres Zeichen, dass Carl Weidemeyer beim planen an die Menschen dachte, die darin wohnen und arbeiten werden, und dabei eine Architektur schuf, in der Intimität und Natur sich in perfekter Symbiose gegenseitig ergänzen.

In diesem Hinblick wird klar, wie jemand der Jahrzehntelang in einem so schönen Ambiente gelebt hat und noch dazu dessen Entwerfer und sein Werk so gut gekannt hatte, dieser mit der Gründung einer Stiftung in seiner Ehre zu würdigen gedachte.

Herzlichen Dank, lieber Dr. Wolfgang Oppenheimer. Danke für die Kämpfe, die wir zusammen ausgetragen haben. Danke für ihre Hingabe, für ihre humane und kulturelle Sensibilität: ihre Geste bleibt für immer unvergesslich.

Liebe Signora Ursula, liebe Signora Sonja, liebe Signora Elisabeth, ihnen möchte ich unser herzliches Beileid ausdrücken. Wir werden das Werk der Stiftung weiterführen, die ihr geliebter Gatte und Vater ins Leben gerufen hat. Sein Beispiel und seine Lehre werden wir immer in unseren Herzen tragen.